Día De Los Niños, Día De Los Libros

Picture from El Dia 2017

The Department of English at ASU presents the ninth annual Día De Los Niños / Día De Los Libros celebration of kids, language, and culture. Special guests include Tomás Stanton (emcee), e. E. Charlton-Trujillo, David Bowles, and Juana Martinez-Neal — winner of the 2018 Pura Belpré Award (keynotes); YA authors Dusti Bowling, Amy Fellner Dominy, Abigail Johnson, Bill Konigsberg, Amy Nichols, and Amy Trueblood; poets Kyle Grant Wilson and Henry Quintero; storyteller Kyle Mitchell; and a welcome by Arizona's Poet Laureate Alberto Ríos.

The 2019 celebration also features the presentation of the inaugural Flores Family Award, named in honor of ASU Día founder Tracey Flores, for advocacy in support of family literacy, cultural celebration, books, kids and reading.

The event is for kids in 6th through 12th grades and attendees must be sponsored by their schools (teachers must register and accompany their students). 

Additional event partners include ASU's Office of the President, The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and its division of humanities, College of Integrative Sciences and Arts, Virginia G. Piper Center for Creative Writing, Office of the Vice Provost for Inclusion and Community Engagement, and Center for Indian Education. Further support was raised via ASU PitchFunder.

Department of English
James Blasingame
Registration begins at 9:30 a.m.
Memorial Union, Arizona Ballroom 221
Tempe campus

COVID-19 information

FAQ page  | Latest updates.