CISA's Inclusion Committee

The purpose of the College Inclusion Committee is to help the college support diversity, equity and inclusion in all its work, programs, degrees, courses, hiring practices, centers and related activities, including community outreach. It provides oversight, feedback, and guidance on ways the college can support and encourage diverse students, staff, and faculty. It is the primary body that provides guidance and oversight on all college policies and practices in which there are issues of equity or inclusion of minoritized groups (e.g., groups determined by race, gender, sexual orientation, religion, language practices, and disability). While its charges may change and evolve over time, it will review such things as the College of Integrative Sciences and Arts Academic Affairs Policies and Procedures Manual, hiring policies and outcomes, teaching observation practices and policies, merit and retention practices, faculty and staff demographics, graduation rates and student performance in academic units and individual courses.

The committee’s main job is to help make the college a diverse, equitable, inclusive and sustainable place. Membership will consist of at least 4-5 faculty, 2-3 staff members, 1-2 students, and a chair. All members will hold a 2-year term, and members may hold consecutive terms. The members of the committee will also represent a diverse and inclusive group of faculty, staff, and students. The selection of the committee and its chair shall take place by May 1 of each year.

Manuel Aviles-Santiago - Office for Veteran and Military Academic Engagement

Nicholas Ray - College Dean's Office

Mark Haunschild - Languages and Cultures

Marie-Louise Paulesc - Languages and Cultures

Rajni Nair - Science, Mathematics, and Social Science

Jennifer Robinson - Languages and Cultures

Jennifer Sniegowski - Science, Mathematics, and Social Science

Pamela Stewart - Languages and Cultures

James Wermers - Languages and Cultures

Tony Clark - Interdisciplinary Humanities and Communication

Laverne Dacosta - Social Science

Vanessa Fonseca - Interdisciplinary Humanities and Communication

Claire Lauer - Interdisciplinary Humanities and Communication

Kristine Pullins - Interdisciplinary Humanities and Communication

Nicole Snell - Interdisciplinary Humanities and Communication

Fabio Suzart de Albuquerque - Science and Mathematics

Jennifer Chandler - Leadership and Integrative Studies

Asao Inoue, Chair - College Dean's Office

Cheryl Warner - Counseling and Counseling Psychology

Current DEISJ projects

The CISA Inclusion Committee is consistently working to tackle issues that are important to the CISA, ASU, and local communities. The committee is currently working to:

  • Develop a college diversity statement that affirms CISA’s commitment to diversity, equity, inclusion, and social justice.
  • Explore mechanisms for formally recognizing DEISJ contributions as part of the promotion, tenure, and annual review processes.
  • In collaboration with the College Assessment Committee, propose updates to the course evaluation instrument to address inequities it perpetuates along gender and racial lines and to add questions about DEISJ efforts in the classroom.
  • Review and propose revisions to CISA public documents.
  • Provide feedback and guidance on all open hiring committees, processes and materials, including job announcements, recruiting, interview questions, the evaluation of candidate diversity statements, and other materials.
  • Provide resources for the CISA DEISJ web pages to support faculty, staff, and students in their efforts toward diversity, equity, inclusion, and social justice.
  • Conduct other inclusion and diversity-related projects decided by the committee and on-going need.

Questions or comments?

If you have questions, comments, or suggestions regarding the inclusion committee or its current projects, please reach out to Asao Inoue, CISA Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Equity, and Inclusion.